About us

With 1,500 students, around 200 scientists and 28 professorships, the Department of Architecture at the TUM School of Engineering and Design (ED) is pursuing a research-oriented teaching approach in cooperation with public organizations and companies — embedded in the excellent living and research environment of the greater Munich area.
Our central task is to sustainably improve teaching and research in our field and to develop strategies for the transformation of our built environment. Starting from the core activity of designing, we synthesize, contextualize and design complex spatial solutions. Our vision is to successfully integrate design practice into research.

Key topic at the Department Architecture 

"[...] climate change, resource responsibility, the different focus areas of our Department try to face these urgent problems from different perspectives. The core discipline of architectural design does not only try to design new forms of sustainable architecture, they also try to get to the source of the problems building materials sustainability in buildings itself." Department Head Prof. Regine Keller presents the Department Architecture, part of the TUM School of Engineering and Design at Technical University of Munich.

 

Studios & Orientation

Students benefit from a professional working area on the Munich inner city campus: There are extra educational and research units over an area of more than 13.000 square metres. The department has numerous studio areas with 1.200 work spaces. More coming soon.

School Office  

The School Office is the administration and service institution of the entire TUM School of Engineering and Design. On its website you can find information on and contact details of the members of the boards, as well as the management and administration teams. more

Awards

Student accolades are regularly awarded at the Department of Architecture. In the field of architecture the TUM School of Engineering and Design annually grants several awards in cooperation with foundations. More coming soon.

Annual Exhibition

AJA is the annual exhibition at the Department of Architecture, organized by students for students. The digital part of the exhibition with projects on last year’s motto “it’s about change!” can be visited all year long. more

Task Force Sustainability 

The Task Force Sustainability at the TUM Department of Architecture is an association of students, researchers, and faculty members. The joint objective is to shape a more sustainable university. more

Job- and Internship Portal

The Jobportal of the Technical University Munich contains job advertisements by the TUM and other scientific institutions, as well as by firms and companies. more

Über uns

Das Department Architektur der TUM School of Engineering and Design (ED) verfolgt mit 1.500 Studierenden und rund 200 Wissenschaftler*innen und 28 Professuren einen forschungsorientierten Lehransatz in Kooperation mit öffentlichen Organisationen und Unternehmen — eingebettet in das hervorragende Lebens- und Forschungsumfeld des Münchner Großraums.
Unsere zentrale Aufgabe ist es, die Lehre und Forschung in unserem Fach nachhaltig zu verbessern und Strategien für die Transformation unserer gebauten Umwelt zu entwickeln. Ausgehend von der Kerntätigkeit des Entwerfens synthetisieren, kontextualisieren und gestalten wir komplexe räumliche Lösungen. Unsere Vision ist es, Designpraxis erfolgreich in die Forschung zu integrieren.

Schlüsselthemen am Department Architektur

"[...] Klimawandel, Ressourcenverantwortung - die verschiedenen Schwerpunktbereiche unseres Fachbereichs versuchen, diesen drängenden Problemen aus unterschiedlichen Perspektiven zu begegnen. Die Kerndisziplin des architektonischen Entwerfens versucht nicht nur, neue Formen nachhaltiger Architektur zu entwerfen, sondern auch den Problemen der Nachhaltigkeit von Baustoffen in Gebäuden selbst auf den Grund zu gehen." Department Head Prof. Regine Keller stellt den Fachbereich Architektur der TUM School of Engineering and Design vor. 

Studios & Orientierung

Studierende profitieren von einer professionellen Arbeitsumgebung auf dem Campus in der Münchener Innenstadt. Auf mehr als 13.000 qm Fläche erstrecken sich die Lehr- und Forschungseinheiten. Das Department Architektur verfügt über zahlreiche Studioflächen mit 1.200 Arbeitsplätzen. Mehr in Kürze.

School Office  

Das School Office ist die Leitungs- und Serviceeinrichtung der gesamten TUM School of Engineering and Design. Mehr Informationen zur Führungs- und Managementstruktur und Ansprechpersonen in den Leitungsgremien, dem Management-Team und im Academic Leadership Teams. mehr

Preise

Regelmäßig werden am Department Architektur Nachwuchserfolge ausgezeichnet. Die TUM School of Engineering and Design vergibt im Fachbereich Architektur jährlich mehrere eigene Preise in Kooperation mit Stiftungen. Mehr in Kürze. 

Jahresausstellung

AJA – die Jahresausstellung am Department Architektur von Studierenden für Studierende. Der digitale Ausstellungsteil mit zahlreichen Projekten zum Jahresmotto "it´s about change!" kann ganzjährig besucht werden. mehr

AG Nachhaltigkeit

Die Arbeitsgruppe Nachhaltigkeit am TUM Department Architektur ist ein Zusammenschluss aus Studierenden, Lehrenden und Forschenden. Gemeinsames Ziel ist es, die Hochschule nachhaltiger zu gestalten. mehr

Job- und Praktikabörse

Die Studierenden-Jobbörse der Technischen Universität München beinhaltet Anzeigen der TUM und anderen Wissenschaftsinstitutionen sowie von Büros und Unternehmen. mehr